I am grateful to know I do not know everything.

Hello Mom,

Sorry for being incommunicado last week, it was a hectic one.

I am well. My new companion, Elder Cowan, is a lot of fun. He is from the same group as Elder Bias and Elder Woodis, so it was a decent batch.

1. I would say the number one reason to prepare to serve a mission is because it won’t just help you if you do go on a mission. By strengthening ourselves spiritually as soon as possible, we can resist and overcome temptations that may otherwise be stumbling blocks for us. Another reason to prepare is that every member of the church is already on a mission. Going to a different place and being called as a full time missionary is an incredible experience. You live the gospel everyday and share it with everyone you meet. However, every baptized member also has made a commitment to share their faith in Christ. Just because members don’t wear tags and go door to door, two by two, doesn’t mean that they have no part in the work of salvation. A quote I like is “Preach the Gospel, use words when necessary.” As members, we need to actively seek out things testifying of Christ. As we do that, preparing for a mission and preaching the gospel go hand in hand.

2. I was told today that I am a little weird, but the good kind of weird, not the bad kind. I guess that counts as a compliment? 🤔

3.I am grateful to know I do not know everything. Few things are more humbling than knowing many people have a far more vast knowledge on a far greater range of topics than myself.

4. Favorite quotes: “If you can’t say anything nice, at least make it funny.”
-Grandpa Kendrick

“Be who you are/ Say what you think/ Because those who mind don’t matter/ and those who matter don’t mind”
-Dr. Suess (I think I quoted this right)

5. Bed bug bites are itchy, but I have only been bit once, so  #blessed and my Amazon Prime  package was received and appreciated.

Elder Cowan is good. I have served around him before. He is from Oregon and his last area was the D.C. 2nd YSA Ward. He has been out 19 months.

I would answer the rest of these questions but I need to go to bed!

I love you bunches!

Elder Norris
Washington DC North Mission
Trust God, Good things will come

One thought on “I am grateful to know I do not know everything.

  1. Elder Norris…

    the more you learn, the more you realize how little you know
    No matter how much you know, there is always some one that knows more…

    “And the Lord said unto me: These two facts do exist, that there are two spirits, one being more intelligent than the other; there shall be another more intelligent than they; I am the Lord thy God, I am more intelligent than they all.” (Abraham 3:19)

    The Best to you!

    Pres. Payne

    Like

Leave a Reply

